Being Hannah

Hello, my name is Hannah Buff (bit of an unfortunate surname to have considering that I want to be a teacher, I know).

Hello, my name is Hannah Buff (bit of an unfortunate surname to have considering that I want to be a teacher, I know). I am 19 years old, 20 in May and I am currently studying a BA in English Language and Creative Writing at the University of Westminster. Alongside my studies, I am also the English Society’s Social Secretary, which means that I post all the social media posts etc.… (along with the help of two others). I am also an Editor at the society’s magazine, The Wells Muse, whilst in this role I have helped create and distribute two issues as to date.

However, I am not all work and no play (though I do work a lot both at University and my holiday job back home). I do some recreational writing, not just the writing I have to do at University. Writing to me has always been a way to express myself and my emotions as I have been unable to do so verbally, and while the writing has never been directly about the problem, it was a way to just sort my emotions out. Within this blog, I am going to be featuring some random short stories along the way, ones that I wish to publish in a collection of short stories. My two biggest projects I am working on now is a collection of twisted fairy tales and my own novel (which I am also submitting for my Novel Writing class at University). So, you may see a lot of ranting about those when I get the unformidable writers block. Oh yes, everyone gets them unfortunately.

With no surprise, I can be, though it is sometimes difficult due to the amount of work I have, an avid reader. My personal best so far is reading the Harry Potter series in a weekend, or The Book Thief in a day. It does, while I am at University, take me quite a while to read a book due to the amount of assessments which is why I tend to leave most of the reading for Summer and Christmas holidays. However, a reason I started this blog is so that I can also share with you my experience with a book and recommend books that I find great to you. So, when I finish a book, I will be doing a book review, though there will be some spoilers in them (I’ll try and keep them to a minimum).  I’ve never not known when I haven’t read, so when I started my course and realised I will not be able to read much, I was not happy. Though now I have come to understand and appreciate books a whole lot more.

As well as writing I do some Photography, mainly stock images, though I have done two of my cousin’s weddings which was great experience and I would happily do it again. I will mostly be featuring my own images on here. Photography became another way to express myself and let me get my emotions out (though again, not directly). Whilst I may not be great at it, I do find that it brings me great comfort and help when I do it. It also sometimes inspires me to write.

Oh, and I will also post random rants and pieces from my Journal, this blog is very much the ins and outs of my life.

Leave a Reply

